keepitrealELT

Reflections on authenticity in teaching and learning

It’s language learning but not as we know it: Beginners’ Hindi

I have started studying Hindi.  I started 2 weeks ago and the back of my notebook already has a page of notes on  things I have learnt about the way I teach (the front of the notebook has Hindi in it, don’t worry!).  Each week I’ll add some musings.

Let me get one thing clear from the outset.  I was my own nightmare of a student on day 1: I arrived at the lesson 20 minutes late because I hadn’t sorted out my sat nav the night before.  I also decided I needed a coffee before embarking on a 2 hour lesson in something I had no idea about. 

LESSON #1: Just because someone arrives late does not mean they are not eager to learn or interested in the subject.  They might just be disorganised or nervous.

Upon arrival, my teacher gave me my very own exercise book and pen, and I mean old-school exercise book with spaces for name and subject on the front.  I actually wrote ‘Emma Lay’ and ‘Hindi’ on the front cover.  This gift (the classes are free so I haven’t paid for materials) from the teacher made me feel extremely enthusiastic about starting.  I felt like I was at school and at school I was a bit swotty.

LESSON #2: Rapport can be built not just with words but also with actions.  It is amazing, the sacred feeling of an empty exercise book.   Unexpected gifts/help in autonomy-driven classrooms may prove quite refreshing.

“Can you please introduce yourselves to each other?” 

My teacher asks this question to the whole group. I instantly feel nervous and ‘on-the-spot’. I am a teacher, I ask students to do this all the time, we do ice-breakers, warmers, get-to-know-you sessions, so many they are abbreviated (GTKY).  Yet, put me in this situation and I panicked.  How do I condense all I am into a 20 second introduction?  What shall I say?  How will I be judged by what I say?  Should I say I’m a teacher?  Should I say I want to go to India, but haven’t been there yet?  Will I look silly? 

“What should we say miss?” (the students are mixed in age from young teens to middle-aged).

“Just tell everyone your name.”

Phew!

LESSON #3: Asking people to introduce themselves with more than their names in the first session can be extremely overwhelming and potentially stressful.  Start simple. Be real, let people introduce themselves when they feel ready.

mera nam Emma hain, me Hindhi seekh rahee hoon…

3 comments on “It’s language learning but not as we know it: Beginners’ Hindi

  1. russell
    26/09/2012

    I enjoyed reading this…I particularly liked your point about lateness. It reminded me of the ladder of inference…http://www.mindtools.com/pages/article/newTMC_91.htm

  2. Willy C Cardoso
    07/11/2012

    Hi Emma
    Your colleague, theeaparchivist (didn’t find his name), shared this post of yours on my blog. It is really interesting when after many years teaching we become students again, isn’t it?
    I also felt what you said in Lesson #1, considering I was late two times out of four in my Spanish course. If you’re interested I wrote about the second lesson here: http://authenticteaching.wordpress.com/2012/11/02/focusing-on-the-pre-selected-or-its-hard-to-teach-a-teacher-experiences-learning-spanish/

    Hope to read more from you.

    Best,
    Willy

    • keepitrealemma
      18/11/2012

      Dear Willy,

      Thanks for your comments! It’s always good to meet like-minded TEFL-ers. The EAParchivist is a Susie who I work with at Leicester Uni; we share a lot of similar thoughts and philosphy on teaching. We both share an interest in critical pedagogy which I haven’t written much on on my blog yet but must get around to!

      Interesting you are a late ‘arriver’ to your Spanish classes too 🙂 I try to be on time more now; some inherent guilt of being late being a teacher myself I suppose but I do cut my own students some slack on it more now! 🙂

      I will check your blog out now. Thanks again for dropping me a line and thanks for saying “hi!”.

      Best,

      Emma.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 24/09/2012 by in Uncategorized.
urbantworural

packing up and moving to the sticks

tjhampson

Blogging about what's going on in my classroom and in my head.

Teaching EAP

Polemical. Questioning, debating and exploring issues in EAP

Mike Neary

How do revolutionary teachers teach?

HE Reflections

Exploring approaches to teaching and learning

The Other Things Matter

because if you tried to count up all the things that affected learning in a classroom, you'd need a million million fingers (and you'd still probably fall way short )

ELT Reflections

Musings of a teacher always in training

ELT Rants, Reviews, and Reflections

...and other things I'm not so sure about

elt-resourceful

Full of tips and ideas for creating ELT and ESOL resources

hughdellar

Thoughts, rants and ramblings on the teaching of English as a Foreign Language

Reflective Teaching

Because we're all still learning... I know I am.

Pura Vida Dogme

Dogme Action Research in Costa Rica

Kurdish Studies Network

Connecting knowledge

Learner Centered Teaching

Largest Resource for Learner Centered Teaching on the Web

iLoveTEFL by Christina Rebuffet-Broadus

On a journey to become the best English teachers we can be

